10 to steam as Leighton Buzzard marks heritage-era half century

THE Leighton Buzzard Railway is to hold its 50th anniversary gala over the weekend of September 30 and October 1, with up to 10 locomotives in steam.

The event will celebrate 50 years since the initial formal meeting held in October 1967 that led to the formation of the preservation society.

Orenstein & Koppel 0-6-0WT Elf will be making its last appearance at the Leighton Buzzard Railway 50th anniversary gala before its overhaul. LBR

A special train service will be in operation each day with nine departures from Page’s Park to Stonehenge Works.

Visiting locomotives include Patrick Keef’s 1924 Bagnall 0-4-0ST Woto, Phil Mason’s Kerr Stuart 0-4-0T Diana built in 1909 and Nick Williams’ Andrew Barclay 0-4-0T Jack built in 1925.

They will run alongside the home fleet of De Winton 0-4-0VBT Chaloner built in 1877, Baguley 0-4-0T Rishra built in 1921, Orenstein & Koppel 0-4-0 WT PC Allen of 1913, O&K 0-6-0WT Elf of 1936, O&K 0-6-0WT Pedemoura of 1924, Baldwin 4-6-0T WDLR No. 778 of 1917 and Andrew Barclay 0-6-0T Doll of 1919.

Read more in Issue 233 of HR – on sale now!

Enjoy more Heritage Railway reading in the four-weekly magazine. Click here to subscribe.