, , ,

Heritage Railway Association Awards looking for 2022 nominations


The Heritage Railway Association Annual Awards event is looking for nominations to help celebrate the successes of restoration and preservation.

The Heritage Railway Association 2022 Annual Awards will shine a spotlight onto achievements from all parts of the sector. With 10 categories recognising everything from locomotive restoration to the contribution of young volunteers to successful communications projects, there are opportunities for all heritage railways and organisations, big or small.

Also see

Other categories cover innovative fund-raising initiatives, diesel locomotive restoration and the prestigious Morgan Award for Preservation covering outstanding achievement in the restoration of carriages and rolling stock. There are also overall categories for both large and small organisations.

Article continues below…

Enjoy more Heritage Railway reading in the four-weekly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.

The awards are expected to attract a strong field after the 2021 event saw record levels of interest. Previous winners have included the high-profile restoration of 1867-built Welsh Pony on the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Railway, the Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway and the Class 50 Alliance.

The latest winners will be revealed on March 19, 2022, during a full awards event at the Burlington Hotel in Birmingham, subject to COVID-19 restrictions.

Challenging year for heritage sector

Heritage Railway Association Chief Executive, Steve Oates, said: “Heritage rail has so much to be proud of, but we’re often not so good at celebrating that. That’s why these awards exist, to give us all a chance to shout about what makes the sector great.

Article continues below…

“Whether it’s a young volunteer that’s helped transform your railway, or a huge restoration project that’s brought a rusty hulk back to life, there’s a category relevant to everyone. It doesn’t matter if your line is big or small, steam, diesel, electric or a funicular, these awards are here to shine a spotlight on the rich railway heritage we all love.

“I know that the last 12-months have been challenging again, with Covid-19 still a constant thorn in our side. But that also means that there’s never been a better time to give the volunteers and staff who have helped to get us through it the recognition they deserve.”

All Heritage Railway Association members can submit nominations for the awards. Full details of all categories, together with a nomination form, is available at www.hra.uk.com now.

Article continues below…

The deadline for submissions is 6pm on January 17, 2022.

Subscribe to Heritage Railway Magazine Enjoy more Heritage Railway reading in the four-weekly magazine. Click here to subscribe.

About the Author