Nominations for 2021 Heritage Railway Association Awards now open


Entries and nominations for the 2021 Heritage Railway Association (HRA) Awards are now open.

To celebrate the resilience of the heritage sector during the COVID-19 pandemic, and the inspiration of all that is good in heritage railway, people are being invited to enter or nominate members now.

There are nine awards to enter, including:

Article continues below…

Enjoy more Heritage Railway reading in the four-weekly magazine.
Click here to subscribe & save.
  • The Morgan Award for Preservation
  • The Coiley Locomotive Engineering Award
  • The Lord Faulkner Young Volunteer Award
  • HRA Award for Communications
  • Tourism Superstar
  • Most Innovative Fundraising Idea
  • HRA Award for Small Groups
  • HRA Award for Large Groups
  • HRA Award for an Outstanding Visitor Attraction
Heritage Railway Association Awards

The 2021 Heritage Railway Association Awards will be presented at an awards ceremony scheduled for the afternoon of their spring conference on Wednesday, March 3, 2021 in York. The date and venue are subject to COVID-19 requirements.

HRA Awards Committee Chair Steve Oates said: “2020 has been the hardest in the history of UK heritage rail. But it’s brought out some of the very best in our members. We’ve seen resilience, resourcefulness, creativity, and a dogged determination to get through. Those qualities and their achievements deserve recognition.”

Across the heritage rail sector, morale may be up but revenues are definitely down. Acknowledging this, the awards ceremony will be an afternoon occasion.

Article continues below…

“Presentation of the awards will follow a similar format to our traditional gala evenings. An afternoon event can be staged on a reduced budget for us and for participants. And it will be a terrific and upbeat element of our two days activities in York.”

Nominations are now being accepted for achievements in locomotive engineering, visitor attractions, preservation, communications and for Young Volunteer of the Year. There’s a new category for diesel locomotives, for outstanding work in overhaul, restoration, preservation or operation of a diesel powered locomotive or vehicle. And to recognise the ways in which members have responded to operational lockdown, the 2020 awards list also includes honours for Tourism Superstar of the Year, and Most Innovative Fundraising Idea.

Steve said: “The HRA Awards are a unique way for members to give staff and volunteers the recognition they deserve. They reward success and boost morale, especially important in times like these. And they’re good for business, too. They mean positive exposure, reputation-building, brand awareness and increased appeal.”

Article continues below…

The March 3rd event will also see presentation of the awards for heritage rail presented by Heritage Railway magazine, Rail Express, The Railway Magazine and Steam Railway.

“The HRA annual awards have become the definitive measure for achievement in UK heritage rail. Every year, we see an increase in the number of nominations. In contrast to previous years 2020 will have seen, in many cases, different kinds of achievements. We’re looking forward to the awards event, and shining a spotlight on the very best of heritage rail.”

Nominations close on Monday, November 16, 2020. Click here to enter or nominate for the 2021 HRA Awards.

Article continues below…

Subscribe to Heritage Railway Magazine Enjoy more Heritage Railway reading in the four-weekly magazine. Click here to subscribe.

Article Tags:

About the Author